Life & Story Update

Zdravo svima! (Hello everyone!) I know that it’s been a really really long time and you guys have probably forgotten this exists, but here I am, haha.

First – the story. I would really like to get back into writing, so it’s possible that new chapters might start coming back out again, but I’m not sure. When (at some point lol) I come back to this story, I plan for it to be way less political than it was becoming and to focus on the characters again like I did earlier. I had always put my interests into the story, so I tried to do that when I got interested in history (which of course comes with politics), but looking back, it was kind of rushed and didn’t really fit with the rest of the story. I will keep some of the world-building I had done, since now that I’ve expanded their world it feels weird to shrink it, but… right now I do plan to make it a bit more like it had been. (I’d love to hear your thoughts on this, it isn’t definite.) I also know that you guys did enjoy the world building and realism I’d put in and I still want to write stories like that, with historical/semi-political themes, but I’m not sure if this is the story to do it with. (If I did make historical stories, though… would you guys be interested in them? They may not be simlit…) If you guys have any ideas for how this story should continue (ideas for any of the characters’ lives, or even some small world-building, ect) , I’d love to hear them and rediscover my own story again lol. If you’re reading this, hvala (thank you) for sticking with the story and with me for so long. It means a lot and if you have any questions about this, please ask! 🙂

Second – my life… I know that I really don’t talk about myself that much, but there is one big thing that’s happened and is partly why I’ve been gone so long (and it explains the italic words I’ve been using). So, because of my interest in history that led me to learning more about the world, I applied for a youth exchange program in around listopad (October) of 2019. We had to submit a lot of forms and do interviews, and in prosinac (December) I learned that I had gotten accepted! In siječanj (January), all of the kids that got accepted found out which country they would be living in next school year, and there have been a couple training things we’ve gone to since then as well as working on the language and working on a research project. So… next year, I’m going to be living in Croatia, and I’m so excited! The italicized words are in hrvatski! (Croatian!) Getting ready for exchange is, like I said, a big reason why I haven’t had time to think about this story, but I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with it even before then…

Anyway, thank you all again. Please tell me whatever your thoughts are on the story, I’d like your input for where to go next with all of this. Hvala! (Thank you!)

~ blossom

12 thoughts on “Life & Story Update

  1. I started reading your blog recently and I’m happy to hear you’re getting back into writing! It’s really exciting that you’re getting to study in Croatia, and wherever you end up, whatever you end up doing, I’d definitely be excited to see. I’ve also been getting into historical fiction recently, and I find your perspective really interesting. I hope your next year is awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you and welcome to the story! I’ll be keeping everyone updated on what I end up doing 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on the youth exchange! What a great experience!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Welcome back, haha. I’m happy with the story either way, I still enjoy reading 😀 And wow, congrats on the exchange! Good luck with it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m sorry I missed this. I was on a bit of a hiatus, but I’m back now. I wanted to congratulate you on your exciting adventure! That sounds like so much fun! I wish you the best in all you pursue. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s fine! Thank you! Unfortunately my exchange has been canceled because of COVID-19 but I hope to go the year after I was originally supposed to go.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hope it all works out for you. 🙂

        Like

  5. Chelsae Kronland May 22, 2020 — 5:30 pm

    Wow thats so exciting!! Exchange programs always seemed super exciting and exotic, we even had a couple stay with my family, but i never picked up a language well enough to go down that road. Congrats!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’ll actually be going in 2021 now because of Covid-19 but I’m still really excited and now I get more time to learn Croatian!

      Like

      1. Chelsae Kronland May 29, 2020 — 9:22 pm

        Hopefully the extra study time makes the experience even better for you. In the meantime, i will keep my eye out for the next chapter, and wish you safe and soon travels!

        Like

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close